Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Everything about rooting Toons 1 and 2.

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, TerrorSource, Toonz

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TheHogNL » Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:46 pm

On wlan0 everything should work the same as on eth0. So indeed weird.
Can you post your /etc/resolv.conf and the output from "ip route" and "ip addr" when on wlan0?
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 935
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby CrumNL » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:22 pm

I thought it would/should work with just wlan0 as well so it took some time to catch what was going on.
I've unplugged and restarted toon via the software menu and is on wlan0 :

login as: root
root@192.168.178.18's password:
eneco-001-xx:~# ping google.com
^C
eneco-001-xx:~# ip route
192.168.178.0/24 dev wlan0 scope link src 192.168.178.18
default via 192.168.178.1 dev wlan0 metric 10
eneco-001-xx:~# ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
link/ether 00:xxxx brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
link/ether 54:xxxx brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 192.168.178.18/24 brd 192.168.178.255 scope global wlan0
eneco-001-xx:~# cat /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 84.116.46.22
nameserver 84.116.46.23
CrumNL
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 2019

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TheHogNL » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:21 am

can you ping 8.8.8.8 (the first dns server in the list, goolge's dns)
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 935
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby CrumNL » Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:50 pm

When I plug in a cable, wlan0 disappears and I can ping or connect outside.
When only on wlan I can ping local resources but nothing goes outside.
I'll check my local network later today and see if it is something I misconfigured somewhere even though I haven't changed anything in the last weeks.

Image
CrumNL
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 2019

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TheHogNL » Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:42 pm

If you can ping local resource,.. can you ping the gateway also? If yes, then there is really something on your router blocking your toon on wifi to go to the internet.
If you can't ping your router (but you can ping other local resources, and you can ping the router with lan cable connected) then there could be a ARP related issue on the toon (not see earlier on a toon 1).
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 935
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby qu63 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:46 pm

Hi,

Last weekend I finally rooted a second hand Toon (thanks to martenjacob's ToonRooter).
After some booting the screen kept on saying "Voltooi de installatie (etc)", so I looked around a bit on the forum and read something about reinstalling qt-gui. The removal of the gui went fine, but now there is nothing to reinstall!

I rooted the device again and again, but no gui.. The Toon boots normally, but the loading bar beneath the T-logo hangs at about 35-40% and doesn't progress. Is the missing qt-gui the problem or is there something else f*cked? I tried searching for a replacement qt-gui ipk, but couldn't find it anywhere. The update-rooted.sh-script by IgorYbema also did nothing for me, so I'm a bit out of ideas.

Is there a way to completely reinstall it like a brand new Eneco device? Or are there other ways to reinstall qt-gui and get the device to complete te boot process and make use of the device?

SSH access works fine, so I can propbly do anything from there.

Thanks in advance!
qu63
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 2019

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TheHogNL » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:45 pm

Check this post https://www.domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic. ... 435#p90185

If you know what you are doing it is easily to restore the qt-gui from the eneco servers. You only need a working VPN towards eneco and a working opkg repo.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 935
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby Daniel » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:03 pm

I bought a secondhand toon. The only thing working is Gas/stoom checks day and wheeks.
Seller told me the toon is rooted. Is there a way to check without opening it?
Daniel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: March 2019

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:52 pm

Did he give you the root password? If yes,.. then just use your favourite ssh tool to connect to the IP of your toon and login to it...
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 935
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby qu63 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:03 pm

TheHogNL wrote:Check this post https://www.domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic. ... 435#p90185

If you know what you are doing it is easily to restore the qt-gui from the eneco servers. You only need a working VPN towards eneco and a working opkg repo.

Hmm, I think I did something wrong.

The Toon now only shows the logo when booting up, and nothing more.
Tried rerooting it again, it still won't boor properly. It even doesn't connect to my router wit a network cable attached. So no SSH-ing to see what it is doing.

Have I completely bricked it now? Or is there still a chance that it will live again?

I still can connect it with my Raspberry Pi 3, so I probably can upload anything to it..

Thanks in advance!
qu63
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 2019

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:05 pm

As I said, if you know what you are doing it is easily fixed. All manuals are on the forum for that. From what I read from your posts you are not in control about what you are doing. For example, when then Toon is in the activation-wizard screen it is only one simple edit in a file which would have given you a perfectly working Toon. But you managed to destroy it with removing qt-gui.

But if you really want to go futher, this is the guide which will help you recover a bricked Toon: https://www.domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic. ... 235#p85621
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 935
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby Daniel » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:06 pm

TheHogNL wrote:Did he give you the root password? If yes,.. then just use your favourite ssh tool to connect to the IP of your toon and login to it...


No he didn`t and don`t answer the question, i ask him. :?
The Toon is connect to wifi but nothing works like buienradar, only the message that it cant connect to service centre or something like that.
Daniel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: March 2019

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:15 pm

A rooted toon without you knowing the password is not rooted for me :-) You will need to root it again to gain a password.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 935
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby mAiden » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:39 pm

Daniel wrote:
TheHogNL wrote:Did he give you the root password? If yes,.. then just use your favourite ssh tool to connect to the IP of your toon and login to it...


No he didn`t and don`t answer the question, i ask him. :?
The Toon is connect to wifi but nothing works like buienradar, only the message that it cant connect to service centre or something like that.


Without a root password, you can do nothing on Toon. Just opening it, connect the wires on a 3v3 usb and and remove current password and add you're own.
mAiden
Member
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: July 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby Daniel » Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:21 pm

mAiden wrote:
Daniel wrote:
TheHogNL wrote:Did he give you the root password? If yes,.. then just use your favourite ssh tool to connect to the IP of your toon and login to it...


No he didn`t and don`t answer the question, i ask him. :?
The Toon is connect to wifi but nothing works like buienradar, only the message that it cant connect to service centre or something like that.


Without a root password, you can do nothing on Toon. Just opening it, connect the wires on a 3v3 usb and and remove current password and add you're own.


Thanks for reply.
Seller finally answered, he thought there was no password.
But with putty and login as root the access is blocked.

Is there a description how to change the password?
Daniel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: March 2019

PreviousNext

Return to Toon Rooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 0 guests