Toon app: boiler status

Forum about forum-provided applications on Toon

Moderator: marcelr

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby Emacee » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:01 pm

Turns out to be rather easy to make the sensors separate in Home Assistant using this code:

Code: Select all
- platform: rest
    name: Boiler Status
    json_attributes:
      - sampleTime
      - boilerSetpoint
      - roomTempSetpoint
      - boilerPressure
      - roomTemp
      - boilerOutTemp
      - boilerInTemp
      - boilerModulationLevel
    resource: http://TOON-IP/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt
    value_template: '{{ value_json.sampleTime }}'
  - platform: rest
    name: Boiler Pressure
    json_attributes:
      - sampleTime
      - boilerSetpoint
      - boilerModulationLeve
    resource: http://TOON-IP/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt
    value_template: '{{ value_json.boilerPressure }}'
    unit_of_measurement: bar
  - platform: rest
    name: Boiler setpoint
    json_attributes:
      - sampleTime
      - boilerSetpoint
      - boilerPressure
      - boilerModulationLevel
      - roomTemp
      - roomTempSetpoint
    resource: http://TOON-IP/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt
    value_template: '{{ value_json.boilerSetpoint }}'
    unit_of_measurement: "°C"
  - platform: rest
    name: Boiler In Temperature
    json_attributes:
      - sampleTime
      - boilerOutTemp
      - boilerInTemp
      - boilerSetpoint
    resource: http://TOON-IP/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt
    value_template: '{{ value_json.boilerInTemp }}'
    unit_of_measurement: "°C"
  - platform: rest
    name: Boiler Out temperature
    json_attributes:
      - sampleTime
      - boilerOutTemp
      - boilerInTemp
      - boilerSetpoint
    resource: http://TOON-IP/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt
    value_template: '{{ value_json.boilerOutTemp }}'
    unit_of_measurement: "°C"
- platform: rest
    name: Boiler modulation level
    json_attributes:
      - sampleTime
      - boilerSetpoint
    resource: http://TOON-IP/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt
    value_template: '{{ value_json.boilerModulationLevel }}'
    unit_of_measurement: "%"


Which will look like this:
Image
From here on it will be possible to integrate the sensors into a graph (which I just did, will have to let it gather some data first before it can draw something), wonderful isn't it


For future reference I am also posting it to the rooted Toon component documentation on github.com
Emacee
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 2018

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby marcelr » Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:49 pm

RDNZL wrote:Great work!

I want to get this boilerstatus info from toon and implement it in my hass component, but I rather not install the boiler status app from toon app store.
Is it possible to install the app manually, outside the store?
If so where can I get the bin/src code for it?


An .ipk is just a tarball with a different extension. The code is in data.tar.gz inside the ipk, which you can download directly from the forum file server. Postinstall steps are in control.tar.gz.
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 925
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby glsf91 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:09 pm

RDNZL wrote:Great work!

I want to get this boilerstatus info from toon and implement it in my hass component, but I rather not install the boiler status app from toon app store.
Is it possible to install the app manually, outside the store?
If so where can I get the bin/src code for it?


You can also get de status directly from RRD. The app is also doing this.
Something like:
Code: Select all
http://192.168.1.234/hcb_rrd?action=getRrdData&loggerName=gas_quantity&rra=10yrdays&readableTime=1&nullForNaN=1&from=21-01-2018%2014:00


Look here for the parameter loggerName (<name>)and rra (<rra><name>): /mnt/data/qmf/config/config_hcb_rrd.xml
glsf91
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: September 2017

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby madpatrick » Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:17 am

Hypermobile wrote:Adjusted somebody elses Script to get it to work with this new app:

It's for Domoticz:
1) make 5 UV_variables in domoticz
UV_ToonIP => {STRING} =192.168.x.x
UV_DomoticzIP => {STRING} = 192.168.x.x
UV_ToonboilerInTempName => {STRING} = BoilerInletTemp
UV_ToonboilerOutTempName => {STRING} = BoilerOutletTemp
UV_BoilerPressure => {STRINT} = BoilerPressure

2) Create 3 dummy sensor; with Name BoilerInletTemp, BoilerOutletTemp, BoilerPressure

3) Create a LUA TIME Event copy paste script.


---EDITTED: added Pressure measurement
---EDITTED: added *100 to let the IF THEN work Correct


Great script. I've found a error in the name of the strings.

Code: Select all
UV_BoilerPressure => {STRINT} = BoilerPressure


Must be :

Code: Select all
UV_ToonboilerPressure => {STRING} = BoilerPressure
User avatar
madpatrick
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: December 2017

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby BOverdevest » Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:28 pm

I had a problem with the Boiler Status app reporting only zero's; using a solution given by Emacee in this forum, I found out that the thermostat was not set to Opentherm, but was on ON/OFF. This setting is not designed very clear.... :o
Would it be possible to put something in the script to check this setting?, or to warn the user when relevant value are 0?


Emacee wrote:I had exactly the same issue. The http://192.168.x.x/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt shows this output (mostly zeroes except room temperature and setpoint):
Code: Select all
{"sampleTime":"22-01-2018 15:55:00","boilerSetpoint":0,"roomTempSetpoint":22,"boilerPressure":0,"roomTemp":21.63,"boilerOutTemp":0,"boilerInTemp":0,"boilerModulationLevel":35}


I then removed the Boiler Status app, let the Toon restart en reinstalled. Turned out that my Toon was set to on/off-mode rather then OpenTherm. After putting that back on it is working (except for the pressure but I'm not sure my boiler supports it). So you can try reinstalling the boiler app and restarting Toon. Maybe switch from OpenTherm to on/off and back to make sure that it is set correctly.

Code: Select all
{"sampleTime":"22-01-2018 16:18:00","boilerSetpoint":42.66,"roomTempSetpoint":22,"boilerPressure":0,"roomTemp":21.71,"boilerOutTemp":45,"boilerInTemp":44,"boilerModulationLevel":0}
B Overdevest
Rooted Toon, Raspberry 3B+, Domoticz
BOverdevest
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: February 2018
Location: Delft

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby BOverdevest » Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:38 pm

Now the Boiler Status app is working, the reported boiler water pressure remained 0, same as mentioned for other users.

I found this reference from the OTGW, it has a list of boilers and what OpenTherm communication is being reported.
http://otgw.tclcode.com/matrix.cgi
MsgID 18 reports the water pressure, for my boiler and others it shows a "x" in the table, so not supported...

Hope it will help some people...
B Overdevest
Rooted Toon, Raspberry 3B+, Domoticz
BOverdevest
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: February 2018
Location: Delft

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby BOverdevest » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:22 pm

hi, need some expert help....

This line mentioned in an early post of this thread does not work for me
http://192.168.1.9:10080/hcb_rrd/ReadRRD.html
is this link connected to an older version of Toon?

when i type to http://192.168.1.9, the browsers goes to http://192.168.1.9/qmf/www/
Is this normal?

The html files, I see in the subfolders of /qml/www can opened, but they do not seem to work, like
http://192.168.1.9/hcb_rrd/hcb_rrd.html

Could it be that the Toon web server is not working? I see this question asked several times.
Going through the forum, I looked for /qmf/etc/qmf_project.xml but i cannot find this file
:idea: What to do? :idea:

These work:
http://192.168.1.9/boilerstatus/boilervalues.txt
http://192.168.1.9/happ_thermstat?action=printTableInfo
http://192.168.1.9/hcb_rrd?action=getRr ... amples=100
:arrow: What is the function of "rra"

I checked the loggerNames listed in /qmf/config/config_hcb_rrd.xml in the tag <rrdLogger><name>
I see less items in this xml file (28 pcs) compared to the table mentioned in the post linked below
https://www.domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic. ... =30#p84364
Did the number of parameters change with new versions?

Doing some problem solving, i checked these three files in /qmf/config and contents is the same for all three, is this correct? Seems strange...
config_hcb_config.xml
config_hcb_core.xml
config_hcb_web.xml

Any help would be much appreciated...
B Overdevest
Rooted Toon, Raspberry 3B+, Domoticz
BOverdevest
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: February 2018
Location: Delft

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby Rudolf » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:56 am

I'm having issues with this app and lighttpd's configuration to cache the file it creates.
Please check my topic and this post in particular:
https://www.domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic. ... 337#p86337

Anyone here having the same issue?
Rudolf
Member
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: December 2017

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby hansgrave » Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:34 pm

I have a issue whit this app: the tile says "Geen opentherm support". In settings is opentherm selected even when i touched the refresh button. I tried to uninstall the app but that doesn't work, the stays visible as installed. Someone has a tip?
hansgrave
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: December 2017

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby Rudolf » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:42 am

I don't really understand the values Toon produces for this app. Home Assistant creates these graphs from it's values, but it shows weird behaviour.

Toon Boiler OutTemp and InTemp behave strangely; even when there's no modulation and at night. (The saw-teeth; ignore the small gap)
Image

I limited Toon's temperature at 30*C, because it was heavily overshooting its setpoint (by approx 2*C - which is hot :? )
There's no corresponding gas-consumption either.

Is Toon buggy or could it be my Remeha Tzerra?
Rudolf
Member
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: December 2017

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby Toonz » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:06 am

It could be a buggy OT implementation on both sides....
Toonz
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 716
Joined: December 2016

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby marcelr » Mon Sep 17, 2018 4:49 pm

Makes perfect sense to me. Will try and explain later tonight. Gotta run.
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 925
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby marcelr » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:22 pm

OK, here you go:

Some remarks up front:
Boiler modulation level gives a number between 0 and 100%. This literally means level of modulation, and is related (but not equal) to boiler power output. 0% modulation may mean the burner is switched off, OR the burner is burning at minimum power. Generally, minimum power is in the region of 25% of maximum power.

The boiler starts heating when the boiler setpoint is higher than the boiler output temperature. The boiler also starts heating when there is demand for DHW (domestic hot water).

Also a question first: Your boiler is set to DHW preheating, am I correct?
Assuming that this is the case, the graphs say that:
The boiler has been heating for DHW only, during this period. The boiler setpoint temperature never exceeds the boiler output temperature. This makes sense, because the actual room temperature is always above the room temperature setpoint (not uncommon in a warm period, like this week in NL).
Therefore, in this case, the red line indicates the boiler temperatures when it is heating the internal heat exchanger for hot water. This results in a return temperature which is almost the same as the output temperature, because nothing is fed into the heating system. Only around 19:00-20:00, there is a difference, and the boiler is heating DHW for quite some time (someone filling a bathtub or an adolescent taking a shower that takes forever?). The other peaks in DHW in boiler temp, with modulation levels above 0% are probably from someone tapping some hot water, for washing up, or similar. After each event, the water temperature slowly drops towards room temperature (following an exponential decay curve, for the mathematicians among us). The regular peaks at 0% modulation are generated by the boiler when it maintains a minimum heat exchanger temperature for DHW, so as to be able to quickly deliver hot water at a tap, whenever there is a demand. Apparently, this is done with the burner at minimum power, so you don't see any change in modulation level.

HTH,

Marcel
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 925
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby Rudolf » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:20 am

Awesome detailed explanation; DHW is indeed enabled.
Turned it off last night and I see different behaviour. (Same exponential decay but over a longer period of time)

I expected to see a change in modulation level, but apparently it can do without.
I [don't see/missed] the corresponding gas-usage and all this caused the confusion on my end.

It's a shame that Toon still activates DHW even when away or asleep, doesn't sound very smart to me.
(Although I am struggling to find any sources about potential savings)

Thanks for clearing it up. It seems Toon and the Remeha are doing great.
Rudolf
Member
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: December 2017

Re: Toon app: boiler status

Postby marcelr » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:18 pm

I tried both DHW preheating, and no preheating. In my case 0.2-0.3 m^3 more per day for the preheating only. Not sure about the extra gas for instantaneous heating without preheating. So, in the end, probably it doesn't make a lot of difference (in my case).
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 925
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

PreviousNext

Return to Toon Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest