VNC acces on latest firmware

Everything about external control, apps, VNC, etc goes here.

Moderator: marcelr

VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby wbmk » Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:59 pm

Hi,

I just updated my Toon to 4.11.6 and i noticed that VNC server is x11vnc_0.9.13-r2_qb2 (note R2)..

When i start the VNC server manually, it gives an error:

Code: Select all
03/02/2018 16:57:02 passing arg to libvncserver: -rfbauth
03/02/2018 16:57:02 passing arg to libvncserver: /root/.vnc/passwd
03/02/2018 16:57:02 x11vnc version: 0.9.13 lastmod: 2011-08-10  pid: 5768
03/02/2018 16:57:02 This x11vnc was built without X11 support (-rawfb only).
03/02/2018 16:57:02
03/02/2018 16:57:02 *** XOpenDisplay failed. No -display or DISPLAY.
03/02/2018 16:57:02 *** Trying ":0" in 4 seconds.  Press Ctrl-C to abort.
03/02/2018 16:57:02 *** 1 2 3 4
03/02/2018 16:57:06 This x11vnc was built without X11 support (-rawfb only).
03/02/2018 16:57:06

03/02/2018 16:57:06 ***************************************
03/02/2018 16:57:06 *** XOpenDisplay failed (:0)

*** x11vnc was unable to open the X DISPLAY: ":0", it cannot continue.
*** There may be "Xlib:" error messages above with details about the failure.

Some tips and guidelines:

** An X server (the one you wish to view) must be running before x11vnc is
   started: x11vnc does not start the X server.  (however, see the -create
   option if that is what you really want).

** You must use -display <disp>, -OR- set and export your $DISPLAY
   environment variable to refer to the display of the desired X server.
- Usually the display is simply ":0" (in fact x11vnc uses this if you forget
   to specify it), but in some multi-user situations it could be ":1", ":2",
   or even ":137".  Ask your administrator or a guru if you are having
   difficulty determining what your X DISPLAY is.

** Next, you need to have sufficient permissions (Xauthority)
   to connect to the X DISPLAY.   Here are some Tips:

- Often, you just need to run x11vnc as the user logged into the X session.
   So make sure to be that user when you type x11vnc.
- Being root is usually not enough because the incorrect MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE
   file may be accessed.  The cookie file contains the secret key that
   allows x11vnc to connect to the desired X DISPLAY.
- You can explicitly indicate which MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE file should be used
   by the -auth option, e.g.:
       x11vnc -auth /home/someuser/.Xauthority -display :0
       x11vnc -auth /tmp/.gdmzndVlR -display :0
   you must have read permission for the auth file.
   See also '-auth guess' and '-findauth' discussed below.

** If NO ONE is logged into an X session yet, but there is a greeter login
   program like "gdm", "kdm", "xdm", or "dtlogin" running, you will need
   to find and use the raw display manager MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE file.
   Some examples for various display managers:

     gdm:     -auth /var/gdm/:0.Xauth
              -auth /var/lib/gdm/:0.Xauth
     kdm:     -auth /var/lib/kdm/A:0-crWk72
              -auth /var/run/xauth/A:0-crWk72
     xdm:     -auth /var/lib/xdm/authdir/authfiles/A:0-XQvaJk
     dtlogin: -auth /var/dt/A:0-UgaaXa

   Sometimes the command "ps wwwwaux | grep auth" can reveal the file location.

   Starting with x11vnc 0.9.9 you can have it try to guess by using:

              -auth guess

   (see also the x11vnc -findauth option.)

   Only root will have read permission for the file, and so x11vnc must be run
   as root (or copy it).  The random characters in the filenames will of course
   change and the directory the cookie file resides in is system dependent.

See also: http://www.karlrunge.com/x11vnc/faq.html


anybody else got problems with this?

TIA Wbmk
wbmk
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: November 2016

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby michel30 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:20 pm

I have always the same problem with x11vnc_0.9.13-r2_qb2.ipk

If you remove x11vnc_0.9.13-r2_qb2.ipk and install x11vnc_0.9.13-r0_qb2.ipk than it works fine.

I don't know why the r2 is not working but the r0 works okay.

@marcelr , maybe you can expain why r2 never works and r0 is okay.
michel30
Member
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: August 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby marcelr » Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:23 pm

version r2 is distributed by Quby, the r0 version is mine. Not sure how the r2 version was built, but it's surely not to be used by us :-)

EDIT: I just built a newer x11vnc, linked against the latest openssl library. I will revert to the libssl version of toon, (1.02h, IIRC) rebuild, and post it. Just a few days patience, please.
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 925
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby marcelr » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:08 am

I just uploaded a new x11vnc to the forum download area.
It's linked against openssl 1.0.2h, so it can be used with newer firmwares. The release number has also been bumped (from r0 to r3), so quby's version (r2) won't interfere anymore.
You can find it here:

http://files.domoticaforum.eu/uploads/T ... r3_qb2.ipk

Installation and first run instructions haven't changed with respect to release r0.
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 925
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby michel30 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:51 am

Hello Marcelr,

Thanks for this new release, hopefully version works better.

I always used version 0 but with the latest firmware everything want slow on the touchscreen and when I killed the vnc it was okay.

I just install this one, hopefully it will not slow down the Toon anymore.
michel30
Member
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: August 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby marcelr » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:53 am

Don't get your hopes too high. It's the same code, just linked against a different libssl.
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 925
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby Toonz » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:43 pm

michel30 wrote:Hello Marcelr,
I always used version 0 but with the latest firmware everything want slow on the touchscreen and when I killed the vnc it was okay.

Hi Michel, have you considered disabling all apps you actually do not use/need? It will free up RAM and probably positively impact the speed of Toon as well.
Toonz
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 718
Joined: December 2016

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby michel30 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:25 pm

Hello,

I must say, after installing the latest vnc my Toon is still working okay.
I don't know why it was not working okay with vnc version 0 I only installed hue lights on my Toon, and after that it want slow.
Maybe it is fast again that it is reinstalled.

For now I must say thanks.

If it will be slow again, I will try to switch of one app.
michel30
Member
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: August 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby wbmk » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:45 pm

Great work marcelr

This version installs on top of r2 without any problems!

Thanx
wbmk
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: November 2016

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby Rudolf » Tue May 08, 2018 9:10 am

marcelr wrote:I just uploaded a new x11vnc to the forum download area.
It's linked against openssl 1.0.2h, so it can be used with newer firmwares. The release number has also been bumped (from r0 to r3), so quby's version (r2) won't interfere anymore.
You can find it here:

http://files.domoticaforum.eu/uploads/T ... r3_qb2.ipk

Installation and first run instructions haven't changed with respect to release r0.


Could you add this version to the downloads-sticky?
It's very useful for users on newer firmwares.
Rudolf
Member
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: December 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby Smiggel » Thu May 10, 2018 9:51 pm

Anyone have a suggestion on what app would work on iOS? With VNC Viewer i cannot access my Toon.
Smiggel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: April 2018

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby TheHogNL » Fri May 11, 2018 6:16 am

Smiggel wrote:Anyone have a suggestion on what app would work on iOS? With VNC Viewer i cannot access my Toon.


Try tigervnc. Works for me in windows and there is a ios versions also. http://tigervnc.org/
TheHogNL
Member
Member
 
Posts: 446
Joined: August 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby gielie » Fri May 11, 2018 7:00 am

TheHogNL wrote:
Smiggel wrote:Anyone have a suggestion on what app would work on iOS? With VNC Viewer i cannot access my Toon.


Try tigervnc. Works for me in windows and there is a ios versions also. http://tigervnc.org/

No there is no tigervnc for iOS, I’ve been looking for a working Vnc for iOS, tigervnc works for OS X great.
gielie
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 47
Joined: November 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby Smiggel » Fri May 11, 2018 8:00 am

gielie wrote:
TheHogNL wrote:
Smiggel wrote:Anyone have a suggestion on what app would work on iOS? With VNC Viewer i cannot access my Toon.


Try tigervnc. Works for me in windows and there is a ios versions also. http://tigervnc.org/

No there is no tigervnc for iOS, I’ve been looking for a working Vnc for iOS, tigervnc works for OS X great.


Thank, will try the OS X version. Still looking for an iOS version too. :-) Tried different clients, but none seen to work.
Smiggel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: April 2018

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby michel30 » Fri May 11, 2018 4:29 pm

Hello,

I run on my OSX realvnc and that works super also with the latest firmware.
I run on my Iphone and Ipad RealVNC and that works also fine.
The version that runs on my Toon is x11vnc_0.9.13-r0.
michel30
Member
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: August 2017

Next

Return to Toon external control

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests