VNC acces on latest firmware

Everything about external control, apps, VNC, etc goes here.

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, TerrorSource, Toonz

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby Smiggel » Fri May 11, 2018 7:59 pm

michel30 wrote:Hello,

I run on my OSX realvnc and that works super also with the latest firmware.
I run on my Iphone and Ipad RealVNC and that works also fine.
The version that runs on my Toon is x11vnc_0.9.13-r0.


Hmmm ok. I run version x11vnc_0.9.13-r3_qb2 here. That does not work with RealVNC. I’ll see if I can find your version instead.
Smiggel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: April 2018

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby Smiggel » Fri May 11, 2018 8:27 pm

michel30 wrote:Hello,

I run on my OSX realvnc and that works super also with the latest firmware.
I run on my Iphone and Ipad RealVNC and that works also fine.
The version that runs on my Toon is x11vnc_0.9.13-r0.


Did you do anything special? I installed x11vnc_0.9.13-r0 now and still can’t connect using RealVNC. I get the error: The authentication mechanism requested cannot by provided by the computer.
Smiggel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: April 2018

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby michel30 » Sat May 12, 2018 9:48 pm

Hello,

The only thing that I removed was the encryption:

Code: Select all

vi /usr/bin/x11vnc

if you take out this line:
CODE: SELECT ALL
       -ssl SAVE -vencrypt nodh:plain:support -usepw  \



Than you will have no encryption.
michel30
Member
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: August 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby Smiggel » Sat May 12, 2018 10:37 pm

michel30 wrote:Hello,

The only thing that I removed was the encryption:

Code: Select all

vi /usr/bin/x11vnc

if you take out this line:
CODE: SELECT ALL
       -ssl SAVE -vencrypt nodh:plain:support -usepw  \



Than you will have no encryption.


Ah check. That explains why it works on Real VNC. With the encryption enabled it doesn’t work. With the encryption disabled RealVNC works indeed.
Smiggel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: April 2018

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby ikookmaar » Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:45 pm

I just tried to install the x11vnc from the downloads section on a newly rooted Toon .
I get:
Code: Select all
# opkg install x11vnc_0.9.13-r0_qb2.ipk
Installing x11vnc (0.9.13-r0) to root...
Collected errors:
* satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for x11vnc:
*      libssl (>= 0.9.8m) *
* opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package x11vnc.


Guess my firmware or libssl version is to new...
Yep, found this elsewere on the forum:

It works with the older libssl (0.9.8 from the top of my head). Will upload that .ipk to the forum ftp server, so you can grab it from there. Haven't had the time to complete recompilation yet (x11vnc is not the problem, but libssl is ...).

EDIT: you can pick it up here:
http://files.domoticaforum.eu/uploads/T ... .1_qb2.ipk


But that link is dead...

So reading this here now:

I just uploaded a new x11vnc to the forum download area.
It's linked against openssl 1.0.2h, so it can be used with newer firmwares. The release number has also been bumped (from r0 to r3), so quby's version (r2) won't interfere anymore.
You can find it here:

http://files.domoticaforum.eu/uploads/T ... r3_qb2.ipk


But this Link is also seams to be dead...

Could you please (re-)add one ore both files to the download section?

Thanks!
ikookmaar
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 2019

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby TheHogNL » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:49 am

You need the r3 x11vnc version. Available in http://files.domoticaforum.eu/index.php?cam=/Toon/ipk
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 936
Joined: August 2017

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby ikookmaar » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:40 am

TheHogNL wrote:You need the r3 x11vnc version. Available in http://files.domoticaforum.eu/index.php?cam=/Toon/ipk


Thanks, that one works fine!

To make it start at bootime I first tried the following methods to no avail:
- x11v:5:respawn:/usr/bin/x11vnc in /etc/innittab (did nothing)
- rc.local as in domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic.php?f=102&am ... mp;start=0 (this did nothing)
- crontab but cron was not installed...
And then I found files.domoticaforum.eu/uploads/Toon/ipk ... r8_qb2.ipk
Installed that, did a crontab -e and added @reboot /usr/bin/x11vnc

Up and running now!

(next level: find a way to get the data from my Omnik inverter into Zon op Toon)
ikookmaar
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 2019

Re: VNC acces on latest firmware

Postby whizzz63 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:40 pm

ikookmaar wrote:
TheHogNL wrote:You need the r3 x11vnc version. Available in http://files.domoticaforum.eu/index.php?cam=/Toon/ipk


Thanks, that one works fine!

To make it start at bootime I first tried the following methods to no avail:
- x11v:5:respawn:/usr/bin/x11vnc in /etc/innittab (did nothing)
- rc.local as in domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic.php?f=102&am ... mp;start=0 (this did nothing)
- crontab but cron was not installed...
And then I found files.domoticaforum.eu/uploads/Toon/ipk ... r8_qb2.ipk
Installed that, did a crontab -e and added @reboot /usr/bin/x11vnc

Up and running now!

(next level: find a way to get the data from my Omnik inverter into Zon op Toon)


Did you manage to get the omnik data into Toon?
whizzz63
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 2019

Previous

Return to Toon external control

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aabre and 0 guests