ZonOpToon alternative

Forum about Toon hardware, both versions 1 and 2 of Toon

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, Toonz

Lucien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:51 am

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by Lucien »

TheHogNL wrote:Factory reset is safe. You could also remove the rrd files etc manually but just factory reset will be easiest.
You will probably see an activation screen but the root scripts will kick in a few seconds later to activate your toon on the fly
Unfortunately, somehow my meteradapter died during trying to couple to the TOON. Even on an un-rooted Toon it flashes one time at power up but is not 'seen' by Toon during 'koppelen'.
Prior to the Factory Reset my measurements were good using my S0 connection

I have no idea why and how this happened. My other adapter (not useful for Solar) does connect fine.

What can go faulty on a meteradapter?
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: Ehv

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by marcelr »

Not a lot.
I once had one with a loose power connector inside, but that's about it.

Did you reset the meteradapter prior to coupling (push the small button on the side and hold until the LEDs flash, after ca 10 s)?
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by TheHogNL »

Yes you need to make sure you have reset the meteradapter. Also try in the 'advanced' option of adding meteradapters to reset the meteradapter. The +10s button trick should work even better though.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
Lucien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:51 am

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by Lucien »

The reset did the trick !! Thanks again for all your help !!
Now fresh data, fresh setup and a sunny day ahead of us. Hopefully, everything works fine tomorrow.
Lucien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:51 am

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by Lucien »

Lucien wrote:The reset did the trick !! Thanks again for all your help !!
Now fresh data, fresh setup and a sunny day ahead of us. Hopefully, everything works fine tomorrow.
Everything works very well now !!
IMG_0389.jpg
IMG_0389.jpg (65.11 KiB) Viewed 5598 times
IMG_0390.jpg
IMG_0390.jpg (86.55 KiB) Viewed 5598 times
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: Ehv

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by marcelr »

Congratulations, well done!
vso
Member
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 11:27 pm

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by vso »

if i understand correctly

https://www.kwhmeter.nl/Webwinkel-Produ ... A-LCD.html
with 6599-1500-0201 connected via "audio" cable should work ? (cut off 1 end and connect the internal cables ..

My inverter is the only connected item ..
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: Ehv

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by marcelr »

Just read this thread (all of it). It's all there ...
vso
Member
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 11:27 pm

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by vso »

vso wrote:if i understand correctly

https://www.kwhmeter.nl/Webwinkel-Produ ... A-LCD.html
with 6599-1500-0201 connected via "audio" cable should work ? (cut off 1 end and connect the internal cables ..

My inverter is the only connected item ..
This is the extract of the 9 pages .. as i currently understand ..
marcelr wrote:Just read this thread (all of it). It's all there ...
So if the 20,- euro thing works as i understand correctly the only down side could be that power is also counted when the invert is using power (maybe a diode or so between it ? dunno)
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: Ehv

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by marcelr »

Well, does that answer your question?
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by TheHogNL »

vso wrote:
So if the 20,- euro thing works as i understand correctly the only down side could be that power is also counted when the invert is using power (maybe a diode or so between it ? dunno)
A diode would be very stupid. The small watts for the return is so small that you probably won't notice it on your toon. Well.. it will show 1 or 2 watts 'generated' power in the night. I don't care.
If you want better, get a kwh meter that counts only one way. For example the Inepro Pro1 which Eneco used to installed before they switched to the zwave qubino kwh meter.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
vso
Member
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 11:27 pm

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by vso »

marcelr wrote:Well, does that answer your question?
just want to know what figures (ballpark range) I have to deal with if i buy the cheap one .. a few Watt(s) 0 -50 for example is acceptable miscalculation range (less is better ofcourse)

and no there thread contains in my opnion a lot of remarks / iffy things .. so just want to know yes/no .. and the ballpark range
Ron_nl
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:20 pm
Location: Friesland

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by Ron_nl »

I am using this one Image
Search for DDS1717.
This one stops (in my case) the count completely.

Using a diode is not a option, you just cut half a phase..
And your inverter needs AC power to function.

Ron.
vso
Member
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 11:27 pm

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by vso »

thx diode was a example please forget .. it was stupid of me

DDS1717 is to wide for me, but thx for the suggestion ! appriciated anyway ..
The https://www.kwhmeter.nl/Webwinkel-Produ ... A-LCD.html) is perfect i have just enough room for this width in the breakerbox (only this slot) is left, otherwise a whole new one needs to be installed.
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: Ehv

Re: ZonOpToon alternative

Post by marcelr »

Depending on the type of S0 contact you can just attach a lead along the lines of the sketches drawn in this thread.

If you S0 contact is potential free, you will also need a power supply to your contact, and wire it such that you have active low pulses with time intervals proportional to instantaneous power output of the inverter. Timing typically 0.02s low, rest high, input impedance to signal 4k7-10kOhm, input impedance to Vcc typically 330- 1kOhm. Then your S0 connection gets recognized as a valid sensor.
Post Reply

Return to “Toon Hardware”