Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Forum and Topics about Z-Wave devices.

Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby jorisdekloris » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:16 am

I've bought a Aeotec HEM3 gen5 and I need to install it in a rather old installation.

I really need some guidance to do this correctly. Anyone that could help?ImageImageImage

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
jorisdekloris
Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: December 2010

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby vincenttor » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:44 am

the clambs go on Image

then it probably measures the difference and wants to know the voltage on each phase so it wants to be connected behind the clamps on every phase and neutral wire to get a reading.
C-
so like the drawing you have to find the phases where the clambs are connected to, A - A B - B C-C

You can do this with a multimeter, or just openup everything and follow the wires.
Do not forget to turnof the power. ( to be fully certain , measure if there is still power on the wires behind the switch . If you measure from phase 1 to phase 2 and 1 to 3 or 2-3 you will get around 400Volts. thats not something you do not want to feel, and 230 not as well)


Btw, on the drawing which i used red circles , its wise to move them up.
Behind the switch
vincenttor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: January 2014
Location: Netherlands

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby jorisdekloris » Sat Mar 10, 2018 5:35 pm

vincenttor wrote:the clambs go on Image

then it probably measures the difference and wants to know the voltage on each phase so it wants to be connected behind the clamps on every phase and neutral wire to get a reading.
C-
so like the drawing you have to find the phases where the clambs are connected to, A - A B - B C-C

You can do this with a multimeter, or just openup everything and follow the wires.
Do not forget to turnof the power. ( to be fully certain , measure if there is still power on the wires behind the switch . If you measure from phase 1 to phase 2 and 1 to 3 or 2-3 you will get around 400Volts. thats not something you do not want to feel, and 230 not as well)


Btw, on the drawing which i used red circles , its wise to move them up.
Behind the switch
Thanks! Excellent reply!

I'll open up the rest en put the clamps behind the switch.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
jorisdekloris
Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: December 2010

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby vincenttor » Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:51 am

and did you got it working ?
vincenttor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: January 2014
Location: Netherlands

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby jorisdekloris » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:05 pm

Havent connected it just yet. Can I connect the three brown cables to the rails directly? And all three blue ones to the single blue rail?Image

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
jorisdekloris
Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: December 2010

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby jorisdekloris » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:40 pm

Like thisImage

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
jorisdekloris
Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: December 2010

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby vincenttor » Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:19 pm

yes that should work, i don't see why it has to be on the end of the fuse box actually.
i have a same sort of system but my system measures the voltages by a 9V ac adapter.
so i did not have to connect it like that.
but the principle is the same so i believe it should work, also when you look again to the description thats given this is the same as you want to connect it now.

worst case , it won't work and maybe it breaks the energy meter , but i don't think that will happen since its not that hard if you look at the drawing.
vincenttor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: January 2014
Location: Netherlands

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby jorisdekloris » Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:34 pm

It's working nice and dandy! No fire :)

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
jorisdekloris
Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: December 2010

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby jorisdekloris » Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Thank you for the great assistance!

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
jorisdekloris
Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: December 2010

Re: Aeotec HEM3 gen5

Postby vincenttor » Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:47 pm

;) glad it does.
enjoy
vincenttor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: January 2014
Location: Netherlands


Return to Z-Wave Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests