Home Assistant for Toon

Everything about software tools, new software development and toolchains. For developers, mostly.

Moderator: marcelr

Home Assistant for Toon

Postby timkoers » Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:55 pm

There are two apps available for Home Assistant on the Toon. One of them is dynamic and the other has got some more features.

Dynamic one: domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic.php?f=99& ... mp;t=12089
Feature rich one: domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic.php?f=99& ... mp;t=12078

With this topic, I hope to combine these two efforts into a single, opzimized Home Assistant app.

I'll be keeping you up to date on the progress, but I am looking for contributors (prefferably the TS' of the other HASS topics)
timkoers
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: June 2018

Re: Home Assistant for Toon

Postby Luc_S » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:17 am

Hi mate, I’m up for helping out and thinking about how to combine/extend functionalities. For me all things needed are present (off course :p), let’s hear what should be changed.

Btw, if someone could give some coding hints/tips that would be much appreciated. Some parts feel like they should be handled differently to make it more clean or faster even?
Luc_S
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 2018

Re: Home Assistant for Toon

Postby timkoers » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:37 pm

Luc_S wrote:Hi mate, I’m up for helping out and thinking about how to combine/extend functionalities. For me all things needed are present (off course :p), let’s hear what should be changed.

Btw, if someone could give some coding hints/tips that would be much appreciated. Some parts feel like they should be handled differently to make it more clean or faster even?


I saw a few comments flying by in my email regarding the new user authentication.

We indeed need to take a look at how we are going to handle things. I'm not sure what version of Qt Toon is using, but Home Assistant supports WebSockets.
https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qml-qtwebsockets-websocket.html

The Android Home Assistant app already uses websockets and they work lovely.
timkoers
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: June 2018

Re: Home Assistant for Toon

Postby Toonz » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:44 pm

WebSockets are not available on Toon in the current Qt environment.
Toonz
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: December 2016

Re: Home Assistant for Toon

Postby timkoers » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:46 pm

Toonz wrote:WebSockets are not available on Toon in the current Qt environment.


Whoops, can you give a little detailed overview of the available components of the Toon and it's Qt environment?
timkoers
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: June 2018


Return to Toon software development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest