Enter runlevel problem booting after root

If your (rooted) Toon doesn't do what it's supposed to, post here. Dutch allowed / Posten in 't Nederlands toegestaan.

Moderator: marcelr

Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby themman78 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:59 pm

Hello,
I just rooted my second toon. Everything went well, u-boot version is 2010.09-R8, so entering with password was enough enter console.
My toon was booting just fine after the final ssh server installation. I was able to connect ssh through wifi.

Then i decided it was a good idea to run the update-rooted.sh script from hxxps://github.com/IgorYbema/update-rooted.
because i was allready on 4.19.10 i ran the script with -f option. so only improvements were applied.
All went well i think, i did not pay good enough attention to console messages. After all was done i rebooted my toon.

Now this is the message:
Code: Select all
rtc-isl1208 1-006f: setting system clock to 2018-09-12 20:43:09 UTC (1536784989)
UBIFS: recovery needed
UBIFS: recovery completed
UBIFS: mounted UBI device 0, volume 0, name "rootfs"
UBIFS: file system size:   117833728 bytes (115072 KiB, 112 MiB, 928 LEBs)
UBIFS: journal size:       9023488 bytes (8812 KiB, 8 MiB, 72 LEBs)
UBIFS: media format:       w4/r0 (latest is w4/r0)
UBIFS: default compressor: lzo
UBIFS: reserved for root:  0 bytes (0 KiB)
VFS: Mounted root (ubifs filesystem) on device 0:13.
Freeing init memory: 104K
usb 2-1: new high speed USB device using mxc-ehci and address 2
INIT: version 2.86 bootingusb 2-1: New USB device found, idVendor=148f, idProduct=5370
usb 2-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
usb 2-1: Product: 802.11 n WLAN

usb 2-1: Manufacturer: Ralink
usb 2-1: SerialNumber: 1.0

Enter runlevel:


what can i do to fix it? I am able to see filesystem after booting with "setenv addmisc ...." and "run boot_nand"
I even am able to run the update_rooted.sh script (but without wifi no downloads - so no complete update).
themman78
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 2018

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby TerrorSource » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:33 am

Can you post the content of the /etc/inittab file?
Guess that the runlevel options in that file are not set correctly.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: May 2017

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby mAiden » Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:18 pm

It can be that your inittab is empty now, so he can not find runlevels.
Just for sure, i will post a inittab:

Code: Select all
# /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
# $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $

# The default runlevel.
id:5:initdefault:

# Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
# This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

# What to do in single-user mode.

# /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
# of runlevel.
#
# Runlevel 0 is halt.
# Runlevel 1 is single-user.
# Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
# Runlevel 6 is reboot.

l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
# Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin

# HCBv2 static stuff
ovpn:235:respawn:/usr/sbin/openvpn --config /etc/openvpn/vpn.conf --verb 0 >/dev/null 2>&1
qtqt:245:respawn:/usr/bin/startqt >/dev/null 2>&1

#Not default stuff
gett:235:respawn:/sbin/getty -L 115200 ttymxc0 vt102

# WARNING: auto-managed by '/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap' with '/HCBv2/etc/start.d/*'
#          lines containing 'inittabwrap' will be removed automagically.
netc:235:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_netcon
comm:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_comm
even:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_eventmgr
kpik:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_kpi
pwru:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_pwrusage
scsy:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_scsync
smar:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_smartplug
ther:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_thermstat
user:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_usermsg
weat:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_weather
bxtp:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_bxtproxy
conf:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_config
logl:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_log
rrdr:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_rrd
watc:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_watchdog
hueh:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_hue
p1p1:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_p1
zwav:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_zwave
ligh:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap lighttpd
# end of 'inittabwrap' section.
mAiden
Member
Member
 
Posts: 71
Joined: July 2017

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby TheHogNL » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:00 pm

themman78 wrote:what can i do to fix it? I am able to see filesystem after booting with "setenv addmisc ...." and "run boot_nand"
I even am able to run the update_rooted.sh script (but without wifi no downloads - so no complete update).


Don't try to run that script in the failsafe boot (after the run boot_nand thing). That fail safe linux prompt is very tricky and should only be used to fix a few important stuf. Not run that script :-)

However, if you need internet on the Toon1 in that mode just use the ethernet cable interface. That works fine.

How did you reboot your toon after your -f attempt? Never, never, power cycle direct after disk changes. First use 'sync' to make sure the write buffers are written to the disk.

In a recent version the update script also edits a few default 'how to root a toon' files including /etc/inittab. Probably that went wrong. So, indeed, check the /etc/inittab file.
TheHogNL
Member
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: August 2017

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby themman78 » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:16 pm

TerrorSource, mAiden and TheHogNL,
Thank you all, you were all spot on. The /etc/inittab was empty. I filled it with the inittab posted by mAiden. Thanks for that.
I checked, it was the almost the same as my /etc/inittab of my other Toon. All but the vpn connection to quby/eneco. This line I commented out.

Now my Toon is booting normally, i still need to repair some things. Most importantly, i cannot click on the Stroom nu tile to see the graph. The graph is not showing the energy consumption history. Is this normal? I do have the graphs on my other Toon.
themman78
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 2018

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby Toonz » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:00 pm

Hi,

all your consumption data is still there, but I guess your Toon thinks you have no valid subscription and therefor is not showing the graphs.
Follow the manual here: https://www.domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic. ... 100#p86875 to fix this
Toonz
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: December 2016

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby TerrorSource » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:17 pm

TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: May 2017

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:30 pm

themman78 wrote:TerrorSource, mAiden and TheHogNL,
Thank you all, you were all spot on. The /etc/inittab was empty. I filled it with the inittab posted by mAiden. Thanks for that.
I checked, it was the almost the same as my /etc/inittab of my other Toon. All but the vpn connection to quby/eneco. This line I commented out.

Now my Toon is booting normally, i still need to repair some things. Most importantly, i cannot click on the Stroom nu tile to see the graph. The graph is not showing the energy consumption history. Is this normal? I do have the graphs on my other Toon.



Can you still tell me how you rebooted your toon after using the update script (causing het /etc/inittab to be cleared)? You are the second one (maiden first) to see this happen. I might happen if your power cycle the toon right after the update (changes to /etc/inittab not written correctly)
TheHogNL
Member
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: August 2017

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby themman78 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:00 pm

TheHogNL wrote:Can you still tell me how you rebooted your toon after using the update script (causing het /etc/inittab to be cleared)? You are the second one (maiden first) to see this happen. I might happen if your power cycle the toon right after the update (changes to /etc/inittab not written correctly)


I believe I first used command shutdown -r now. This didn't work, even after a second time. So I unplugged the power cable of the meter adapter to force a reboot. I certainly did not use the sync command.

In the meantime I managed to install my Toon as I wanted. At first Toonstore didn't show up, after several hours (on and off) of reading post on this forum, i ended up finding a post with the solution. My Toon needed installation of some resourcefiles (!?).
As soon may notice, I still am a novice at Toon rooting.
themman78
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 2018

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby Smiggel » Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:22 pm

mAiden wrote:It can be that your inittab is empty now, so he can not find runlevels.
Just for sure, i will post a inittab:

Code: Select all
# /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
# $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $

# The default runlevel.
id:5:initdefault:

# Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
# This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

# What to do in single-user mode.

# /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
# of runlevel.
#
# Runlevel 0 is halt.
# Runlevel 1 is single-user.
# Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
# Runlevel 6 is reboot.

l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
# Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin

# HCBv2 static stuff
ovpn:235:respawn:/usr/sbin/openvpn --config /etc/openvpn/vpn.conf --verb 0 >/dev/null 2>&1
qtqt:245:respawn:/usr/bin/startqt >/dev/null 2>&1

#Not default stuff
gett:235:respawn:/sbin/getty -L 115200 ttymxc0 vt102

# WARNING: auto-managed by '/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap' with '/HCBv2/etc/start.d/*'
#          lines containing 'inittabwrap' will be removed automagically.
netc:235:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_netcon
comm:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_comm
even:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_eventmgr
kpik:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_kpi
pwru:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_pwrusage
scsy:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_scsync
smar:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_smartplug
ther:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_thermstat
user:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_usermsg
weat:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_weather
bxtp:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_bxtproxy
conf:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_config
logl:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_log
rrdr:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_rrd
watc:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_watchdog
hueh:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_hue
p1p1:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_p1
zwav:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_zwave
ligh:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap lighttpd
# end of 'inittabwrap' section.


Thanks for this post. I had the same issue. My Toon was stuck at boot after the last update and would not start after a reboot. Even though the upgrade to 4.19.10 worked just fine. For some reason it got stuck. My iinittab however was not empty. I could ssh and vnc to it. The startup bar filled till about 3/4 and then it jumped back to about 1/10.

However, replacing the contents of my inittab (after making a backup of course) with your contents, my Toon booted again. Perhaps it's helpful for you guys?!

Code: Select all
# /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
# $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $

# The default runlevel.
id:5:initdefault:

# Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
# This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

# What to do in single-user mode.

# /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
# of runlevel.
#
# Runlevel 0 is halt.
# Runlevel 1 is single-user.
# Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
# Runlevel 6 is reboot.

l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
# Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin

# HCBv2 static stuff
#ovpn:235:respawn:/usr/sbin/openvpn --config /etc/openvpn/vpn.conf --verb 0 >/dev/null 2>&1
qtqt:245:respawn:/usr/bin/startqt >/dev/null 2>&1
# add serial console access:
gett:235:respawn:/sbin/getty -L 115200 ttymxc0 vt102
# added tty for direct serial access
# automatic (re)start of x11vnc:
x11v:5:respawn:/usr/bin/x11vnc

# WARNING: auto-managed by '/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap' with '/HCBv2/etc/start.d/*'
#          lines containing 'inittabwrap' will be removed automagically.
netc:235:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_netcon
comm:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_comm
even:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_eventmgr
kpik:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_kpi
pwru:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_pwrusage
scsy:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_scsync
smar:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_smartplug
ther:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_thermstat
user:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_usermsg
weat:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap happ_weather
bxtp:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_bxtproxy
conf:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_config
logl:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_log
rrdr:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_rrd
watc:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hcb_watchdog
hueh:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_hue
p1p1:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_p1
zwav:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap hdrv_zwave
ligh:345:respawn:/etc/init.d/HCBv2 inittabwrap lighttpd
# end of 'inittabwrap' section.
Smiggel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: April 2018

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby TheHogNL » Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:30 pm

Only difference is the x11vnc in your inittab. Maybe it overloaded your toon somehow due to a bad config of the x11vnc.
X11vnc is in anyways a memory heavy daemon, so if you don't need it don't install it.
TheHogNL
Member
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: August 2017

Re: Enter runlevel problem booting after root

Postby Smiggel » Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:33 pm

TheHogNL wrote:Only difference is the x11vnc in your inittab. Maybe it overloaded your toon somehow due to a bad config of the x11vnc.
X11vnc is in anyways a memory heavy daemon, so if you don't need it don't install it.


Ok, thanks for letting me know. Could have been it indeed. :)
Smiggel
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: April 2018


Return to Toon issues and support (Nederlands toegestaan)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests