Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Everything about external control, apps, VNC, etc goes here.

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, Toonz

Post Reply
mbnn
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:40 pm

Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by mbnn »

Hi all,

I was wondering, is there a way to make Toon (Rooted) work with Homey?
I suppose the app for Homey only works with a Eneco subscription based Toon?
Is there any other way to make them talk to eachother?

Thanks.
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by TheHogNL »

https://ifttt.com/homey
You can connect homey to ifttt and then let ifttt control you toon using HTTP requests
Member of the Toon Software Collective
mbnn
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:40 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by mbnn »

Ok, that however wont make Toon available in Homey to bind Flows to.
For example when temperature is above xx then switch on airco in Homey.
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by TheHogNL »

You can let your Toon fire an ifttt event when your temperature is at a certain point and then let ifttt start a homey flow.

You need a simple bash script on your Toon checking the temp and then trigger an event on ifttt like this:

curl -X POST https://maker.ifttt.com/trigger/toon_te ... y/your_key

This works fine. This is what you get if you don't want to pay service money to Eneco :-)
Member of the Toon Software Collective
hansgrave
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by hansgrave »

I found a app on Github, don't know if it works

https://github.com/StefanPostma/nl.vinceste.open-toon
Homey, rooted Toon 1 and HomeAssistent.
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by TheHogNL »

Nice one. I'm goint to ask if the developer is one of the forum members.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
mbnn
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:40 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by mbnn »

That would rock if that works :)

Maybe the developer can also submit it to the Homey appstore with a different name? :)
hansgrave
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by hansgrave »

I installed the app on Homey: now i can see the usage data from Toon and can change temperature or status (sleep, away, comfort etc) with Homey. It have a nice clear design and Toon is easy to connect.
Homey, rooted Toon 1 and HomeAssistent.
mbnn
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:40 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by mbnn »

Yes, the only 2 things is that it does not update the current temperature or other things and energy data gives no values. I hope the developer can fix that.
paul89
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:50 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by paul89 »

mbnn wrote:Yes, the only 2 things is that it does not update the current temperature or other things and energy data gives no values. I hope the developer can fix that.
Are you executing the "Update ..." cards periodically? The app currently does not automatically poll Toon for new data so you have to set up a flow that executes the regarding cards at a desired interval. (I have it setup to run every 5 minutes which is enough for me.)

BTW, I make some contributions to the Homey app (fixes and changes) so if that doesn't work we might be able to further debug it.
hansgrave
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by hansgrave »

paul89 wrote:
mbnn wrote:Are you executing the "Update ..." cards periodically? The app currently does not automatically poll Toon for new data so you have to set up a flow that executes the regarding cards at a desired interval. (I have it setup to run every 5 minutes which is enough for me.
Thanx, the app do update the most important data now! The gas and electra usage doesn't.
Homey, rooted Toon 1 and HomeAssistent.
gerbenz
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 4:14 pm

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by gerbenz »

I installed toon app in homey.
Temp works
But electra and gas not.

I have flow to update every 10sec the status
What is wrong?
hennykarreman
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:47 am

Re: Rooted Toon: Homey support?

Post by hennykarreman »

Ik gebruik de Rooted Toon app al een tijdje.
Ik kwam er onlangs achter dat de meterstanden niet meer geupdate worden.
Ik haal de waarden iedere 20 sec op. De Temperatuur en het Vermogen worden wel bijgewerkt.
De laatste waarden zijn van 6 maanden geleden.
Heeft iemand een idee ?

mvg

Henny
Post Reply

Return to “Toon external control”