ThermoSmart - unable to change Room setpoint

This Forum is about the Opentherm gateway (OTGW) from Schelte

Moderator: hvxl

Post Reply
Gizz
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2023 1:47 pm

ThermoSmart - unable to change Room setpoint

Post by Gizz »

I have a ThermoSmart thermostat that I would like to control with the Nodo OTGW-kit. Unfortunately, the command to set a new room setpoint appears to be completely ignored.

In this example I try to change the setpoint to 28 degrees. The current setpoint is 15 degrees:

Code: Select all

13:25:10.106913  TT: 28.00
13:25:10.151910  B40000200  Read-Ack    Status: 00000010 00000000
13:25:10.571875  T100E0000  Write-Data  Maximum relative modulation level: 0.00
13:25:10.692067  B700E0000  Unk-DataId  Maximum relative modulation level: 0.00
13:25:11.054987  T10100F00  Write-Data  Room setpoint: 15.00
13:25:11.060960  R00780000  Read-Data   Burner operation hours: 0
13:25:11.191055  B407813C6  Read-Ack    Burner operation hours: 5062
13:25:11.196788  AD0100F00  Write-Ack   Room setpoint: 15.00
So that's quite ineffective :)

The current setpoint of 15 degrees seems to get written every 7 seconds(by the ThermoSmart I assume?):

Code: Select all

13:24:54.541467  T10100F00  Write-Data  Room setpoint: 15.00
13:24:54.674133  AD0100F00  Write-Ack   Room setpoint: 15.00
(..)
13:25:03.054594  T10100F00  Write-Data  Room setpoint: 15.00
13:25:03.185547  AD0100F00  Write-Ack   Room setpoint: 15.00
(..)
13:25:11.054987  T10100F00  Write-Data  Room setpoint: 15.00
13:25:11.196788  AD0100F00  Write-Ack   Room setpoint: 15.00
I am a bit confused, because if I understand the Thermostat Matrix correctly, the OTGW should be able to write a new setpoint in combination with a ThermoSmart thermostat.

Any guidance on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated! :)
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: ThermoSmart - unable to change Room setpoint

Post by hvxl »

I'm sorry to have to break the News to you that you are not reading the matrix correctly. Changing the thermostat setpoint is done via MsgID 9. The matrix shows that the Thermosmart does not request MsgID 9. So the OTGW never gets the opportunity to inform the thermostat of the new setpoint.

Thermosmart has an API for changing the thermostat setpoint (https://www.thermosmart.com/product/api/). Unfortunately, the api server is currently not working. Hopefully that will be corrected soon.

Note: I wrote "News" in all lowercase, but the forum software insists on changing the "n" to uppercase.
Schelte
Gizz
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2023 1:47 pm

Re: ThermoSmart - unable to change Room setpoint

Post by Gizz »

That explains a lot, bedankt!

I will be probably picking up a Honeywell T87M2018 at the local Hornbach tomorrow :) I've been using the ThermoSmart through it's API for the last few years, but I've little faith in the API being repaired anytime soon since the company went bankrupt. That's the reason I bought an OTGW, to keep everything local from now on.
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: ThermoSmart - unable to change Room setpoint

Post by hvxl »

The activities of Thermosmart have been taken over by a third party. They have indicated the intention to keep the Thermosmart thermostats working. I am waiting for an answer if that includes the api server as well.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: ThermoSmart - unable to change Room setpoint

Post by hvxl »

It seems that Thermosmart has sent a mail to their users informing them that Plugwise is taking over their services, The mail also says that Plugwise will contact the users with a personal offer. To me that sounds like they may start requiring users to pay a recurring charge to continue to use the service. I'm not sure many users will go for that. After all, a big selling point of Thermosmart was that it didn't require a subscription.

One alternative is to just use the Thermosmart as a temperature measuring device and control panel. Then implement your own software to control the boiler via the OTGW. This control program could be implemented on the ESP8266 of the WiFi version of the OTGW from the Nodo shop. It could also be done in a home automation system. For example with something like Smart Autotune Thermostat (SAT) V3.

When going this route, you may want to open up the Thermosmart and put a bit of tinfoil over the LED. I think it will start flashing annoyingly when it doesn't have a connection to the service center anymore.
Schelte
Post Reply

Return to “Opentherm Gateway Forum”