Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Forum over de plugwise plugin van Rene Klootwijk, nu in handen van Rien du Pre (DUTCH forum)

Moderators: Rene, RdP

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Rene » Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:05 am

I have started to work on a Homeseer plugin for Plugwise. I know Paul was supposed to write this one. However, I couln't stand the temptation. I never wrote a Homeseer plugin neither did I program before in Visual Basic. But after 2 hours I am progressing quite wel. Hope to present you soon with the results, but it will take a couple of days at least cause I have other things to do as well.

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Bwired » Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:08 am

The more the better!
Based on the source software or based on the findings of Maarten.
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Noel » Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:11 am

GREAT :-)
The more the merrier!
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Rene » Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:13 am

In first instance based on the source software. When all information is available to address the circles directly, I will use that method. What I am still missing in the information from Maarten is how to detect which circles are available, cause you need to address a specific circle using its MAC address to retrieve the required data from it (maybe I overlooked).

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby TANE » Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:19 am

cool
can't wait to see this almost after 1 year waiting
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Rene » Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:51 pm

The plugin is working as far as to retrieve the state and power usage and display it within Homeseer. However, I am a bit struggling how to present the information. When I present all information (state, current and total usage) in one homeseer device, you cannot have triggers based on individual values, right? So this would mean each appliance would have 3 homeseer devices, one to represent the state, one to represent the current usage and one to represent the total usage. What is the right approach?

Things I still have to do:
- Make everything configurable (XML URL is now hard coded)
- Store statistics in database
- Buttons to switch devices on or off

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Ruud » Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:55 pm

Rene,

when do you release a Beta version of the plugin?

gr Ruud
Ruud
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 844
Joined: January 2008
Location: Rijswijk (Z.H)

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Rene » Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:59 pm

I hope to release the first beta at the end of the week or in the weekend.

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby TANE » Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:04 pm

Rene,
good News.
If you need any beta tester you know to find me....:)
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Ruud » Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:32 pm

Rene

Count me in to.

gr ruud
Ruud
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 844
Joined: January 2008
Location: Rijswijk (Z.H)

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Noel » Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:38 pm

Rene,
If you need an alpha tester (thats before beta testing), than please let me know [-)
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Rene » Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:40 pm

As soon as I release anything, you all can download it from somewhere;-)


Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Mdamen » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:03 pm

Rene,

There is no such thing as plug detection as far as I know...
In the source you also need to enter/register your plug using the 4 digit code. The 5 digit codes are basically the last 5 digits of the mac address. The first digits are always the same, just the last 5 are different with every plug.
These mac addresses are stored by the source in it's internal database, hence you do not need to re-enter it all the time.

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by rklootwijk</i>
<br />In first instance based on the source software. When all information is available to address the circles directly, I will use that method. What I am still missing in the information from Maarten is how to detect which circles are available, cause you need to address a specific circle using its MAC address to retrieve the required data from it (maybe I overlooked).

Rene.
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

--
Maarten Damen

www.maartendamen.com
Mdamen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 390
Joined: November 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Rene » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:11 pm

I thought I read somewhere Plugwise recommends strongly to register your plugs for security reasons but that it is not mandatory. I did not have to register my plugs (basic + extension), because they were automatically filled in (probably due to the Internet registration process). The advantage of developing using the Source is that my development is in parallel with my 'production' use of Plugwise. As soon as I start developing directly to the USB stick, I will have to claim the USB stick an d therefore lose my 'production'. Because I never programmed in Visual Basic, .Net and Homeseer, let me first try to get a working plugin using the source and we will see how go from there (maybe Plugwise will sponsor development with an additional USB stick and some plugs;-) )


Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Plugwise Homeseer Plugin

Postby Rene » Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:58 am

The first beta version is available on http://house.klootwijk.org/downloads/hspi_Plugwise.zip
Try it at your own risk:

How to install:
1. Unzip the zip file
2. Copy the database file data/Plugwise/plugwise.mdb to <your homeseer dir>/data/Plugwsie/plugwise.mdb
3. Copy the images from html/images/hspi_Plugwise to <your homeseer dir>/html/images/hspi_Plugwise
4. Copy hspi_Plugwise.dll to your homeseer dir
5. Copy the statistics.xml and switch.html file to <your plugwise dir>/html, e.g. c:\program files\plugwise\plugwise source\www
6. Restart homeseer
7. Enable the plugin
8. Configure the plugin: You have to specify the host name or ip address and the port number of the server running the Plugwise web server (default: localhost, 8080). The logging level is default set on information, setting it to debug will generate lots of logging! The default refresh interval is set to 20 seconds.

Features:
- Your Plugwise appliances will be automatically detected and created in Homeseer
- The device status is set to the status of the Plugwise appliance to be used in events
- The device value is set to the power usage of the appliance to be used in events


What does not work yet:
- Changing the refresh interval without restarting homeseer
- Collection of statistics
- And maybe a lot more
- When the device is switched on or off using the buttons in the status screen, it will take upon the next refresh interval till the status is updated on screen as well as for using events.

Have fun!

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Homeseer Plugwise Plugin Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron