Page 1 of 1
No data from P1 port?
Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:02 pm
by sandervp
Hi, after I assembled my own cable (that didn seem to work) I ordered an assembled one hoping that would solve not getting any data from the smart meter.
Smart meter: Kamstrup 162JxC
Hardware: Raspberry Pi
OS: Raspbian (ran rpi-update today)
Checking of the driver is loaded:
Code: Select all
$ dmesg |grep -i ftdi
[ 3.348710] usb 1-1.2: Manufacturer: FTDI
[ 7.662128] usbcore: registered new interface driver ftdi_sio
[ 7.834201] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for FTDI USB Serial Device
[ 7.960570] ftdi_sio 1-1.2:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[ 8.401526] usb 1-1.2: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0
So next I tried is to see if I receive a telegram:
Code: Select all
$ cu -l /dev/ttyUSB0 -s 9600 --parity=none
Connected.
After waiting for a few minutes still nothing appeared, I understood a telegram should be received appr every 10 seconds.
I checked if the signal was inverted, and it is. But even that should have given me some (garbeled) data.
I hope someone can point me in the right direction
Thanks,
Sander
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:47 pm
by Bwired
seems that you need wheezy for this
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:15 pm
by sandervp
It is wheezy ....
Tried everything I could think of to find the reason I am not receiving any data.
Used a powered usb hub to make sure it is not a power issue. Tried it with a Ubuntu laptop.
Still nothing ...
So I tried it on someone else his smartmeter, instant success. So I am pretty confident something is wrong with the smartmeter (or the P1 port).
So next thing is to call Enexis on Monday ... unless someone else has a smart suggestion

Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 12:10 am
by sanderl
Do you have a DSMR4.0 Meter? Then you need baudrate 115200 8N1.
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:03 pm
by sandervp
Nope, already tried that. Enexis is going tot check, possibly replace the smartmeter.
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:33 am
by dutchronnie
Nope, already tried that. Enexis is going tot check, possibly replace the smartmeter.
Did you have already an solution?
I do have exactly the same problem, no data from P1 port
And an DSMR4.0 meter tried on 115200 8N1, no results
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:23 am
by MarsMan
Hi,
I am having the same problem. I made a working P1-kabel for the Landis+Gyr E350 ZCF120ABdFs2 DSMR2.2+.
Settings : 9600 7E1.
Signal data inverted : yes.
On the Landir+Gyr E350 type ZCF110/ZMF11 DSMR4.0 it does not work anymore.
Symptom : no data.
Settings : 115200 8N1.
Signal data inverted : yes.
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:31 pm
by eDsuB
The specs of the DSMR 4.0 port are documented in the DSMR4 spec from Netbeheer Nederland.
Currently the dutch gridoperators roll out two types DSMR4 meters: Kaifameter and L+G e350. Where the Kaifameter complies to the DSMR4 standard, the L+G does not.
In contrast with earlier (DSMR 2.x / 3.x) smartmeters the port setings have changed from 9600/7/E/1 to 115200/8/N/1 (but that IS clearly described in the specs).
Please do remember this clue is brought to you by
http://www.smartmeterdashboard.nl (Sure I'd like to sell more P1 converters, but I am also aware that a lot of you domotica enthusiasts simply want to fix this yourselves). Note: I hope this remark is not violating forum rules.
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 9:33 pm
by Taeke
MarsMan wrote:
I am having the same problem. I made a working P1-kabel for the Landis+Gyr E350 ZCF120ABdFs2 DSMR2.2+.
Since there is some inconsistent info about the pin connections on the web, would you mind sharing the pin-out of your cable?
Re: No data from P1 port?
Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 7:28 pm
by sincze