Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Show or discuss your existing Home automation project here, so a detailed explanation!.....

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby richard naninck » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:24 pm

Not really hires but pictures taken by my iPhone. Please have a look and tell me if it's worth to make better shots. It's hard to see which pins are connected. The NULL modem cable must provide the PC side pin 4 to Quinta side pins 1 and 6. Without it it doesn't work. The software reset doesn't actually reset the Quinta just it doesn't with the Avanta. Too bad, but I have found a way to determine if the Quinta has an error AND stopped working because of it.

I can't upload the pictures because I am only allowed 300KB on attachments. Als my posts have a delay because they have to be confirmed by the moderator? Never seen that on a forum before!
So no pictures from me...
Last edited by Bwired on Fri Dec 10, 2010 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: merged
richard naninck
Member
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: November 2010

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Bwired » Fri Dec 10, 2010 4:53 pm

Make them smaller, no problem
first 10 postings are moderated, quite normal!
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby spierie » Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:08 pm

Hi Richard, you can also mail them to me at michel at spierenburg dot org.

I can then have a quick look if it is possible to rebuild it.

Thx!

Rgds,
Michel.
spierie
Member
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Bwired » Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:47 pm

Send them to me also, i will place them
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby spierie » Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:27 pm

Thx Richard for the info.

Via the pictures from Richard we found out there was a MX2xx ic in there, which of course takes care of the RS232 line driving.
The other chip was a LPC764BDH from Philips. This is a small microcontroller with i2c on it as well. So the mini GMI interface indeed takes care of i2c to RS232 conversion.
This makes it pretty complicated as we don´t know how the microcontroller communicates to the main controller of the kettle. We know it is i2c, but that is all..... In theory we could get a JeeNode to communicate with the kettle, if we just knew how they communicated....

Guess I´ll go and buy a cable this week.....;-)

Thx all!

Rgds,
Michel.
spierie
Member
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Bwired » Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:32 pm

Agree will be difficult, I also think better to buy!
Here are the pictures (full resolution)
http://files.domoticaforum.eu/index.php?cam=/Remeha

IMG_0587.jpg
IMG_0587.jpg (100.47 KiB) Viewed 12008 times
http://www.bwired.nl Online Home, Domotica, Home Automation. Weblog. http://blog.bwired.nl
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Wim2008 » Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:10 am

I found that the Recom set for Avanta, Aquanta and Calenta has "bestelnr." S59.582 and the price is Eur 127,45 by Remeha.
The Recom set for Quinta-seire and several others has "bestelnr."58.900 and a price of Eur 129,65.

Is it possible to buy several interfaces for several people here in one time?

B.r. WIm :) :wink:
Wim2008
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 687
Joined: August 2009
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Cariba » Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:27 pm

I also bought a MAX232 from eBay (from Hong Kong). But as I read it here, that won't be enough for the Quinta.

So now I'm wondering what is the best way to go: Creating an OpenTherm Gateway with RS232 connection, or buying the 'cable'.

The main thing I want to do is to be able to supply the outside temperature... What is the best way to go and what are the differences between those two?
Cariba
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: July 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Digit » Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:46 pm

If I understand correctly, you have an outside temperature sensor that cannot be connected to the Quinta directly?
Connecting the Recom way (with a (selfmade) cable) will not enable you to supply the outside temperature to your Quinta.
It's more a monitoring type of interface. I wonder if OpenTherm will enable you to, can't answer that: I've never seen outside sensors that can "talk" OpenTherm natively; they are mostly connected to either the boiler or the thermostat.... maybe buying an outside sensor that can be connected directly saves you time and/or money?
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Cariba » Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:27 pm

Well I've got outside temperature sensor working through RFXcom, so I wondered if that interface would also give you the possibility of supplying data. I would like to supply the "Openhaard AAN" status also through that interface.

So this narrows down to an OpenTherm Gateway I guess and not the direct serial connection?
Cariba
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: July 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Digit » Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:50 pm

I guess so, although I don't really understand the relation between your "Openhaard" and your Quinta?
What do you want to happen when you supply "Openhaard aan"?
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Cariba » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:06 am

"Openhaard AAN" is a mode on the Celcia 20 thermostat (It happens when you keep the i button pressed for 3 seconds). What it does is: it ignores the tempature sensor inside the thermostat, so the rest of the house will be heated even if the room temp is high because of the fireplace.

I guess it's difficult to achieve, because I can only find "opentherm monitors" and no "opentherm interfaces".. :(
Cariba
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: July 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby Digit » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:16 am

OK, yes now I remember; I had a Celcia 20 for a while, a year ago. But "the quarter did not fall" :lol:
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby psmaaswinkel » Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:19 am

I really love this possibility of the remeha calenta. Two weeks ago a installed my own calenta at home and of course connected it to my network with a similar interface. My interface is based on the wiznet 110sr. I can view my calenta with the recom software. Because I am not using homeseer I am trying to find a way to read the calenta data by a php script or standalone program for windows. The goal is to store the data every 5 minutes or so to the mysql database so I can use this data on my domotica interface which I am programming myself in php and javascript....

The problem at this moment is the fact that I have no experience with php and writing / reading tcp ports...

Any help (if possible) would be great...
___________________________________________________________________
iEase Home Control
psmaaswinkel
Member
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: October 2010

Re: Remeha Calenta interface for Homeseer

Postby richard naninck » Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:00 am

Cariba wrote:I also bought a MAX232 from eBay (from Hong Kong). But as I read it here, that won't be enough for the Quinta.

So now I'm wondering what is the best way to go: Creating an OpenTherm Gateway with RS232 connection, or buying the 'cable'.

The main thing I want to do is to be able to supply the outside temperature... What is the best way to go and what are the differences between those two?


My outside temperature sensor is connected directly to the Quinta 65. The interface for sure can't help you there. The gateway can handle an outside temp atleast for the avanta so I guess that should be the case for other types as well but I didn't know that different types of Quitas can or cannot handle an outside temp sensor. Are you sure you can't connect directly to the Quinta?
richard naninck
Member
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: November 2010

PreviousNext

Return to Home Automation Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest