Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Forum about Domotiga Open Source Home Automation for Linux.

Moderator: RDNZL

j.hoekstra
Member
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by j.hoekstra »

Hey, I've been playing with domotiga for a couple of days now. And I've been running into some problems/questions.
I got the RFXCOM ethernet transmitter/receiver(87005), the receiving part works well. The transmitter doesn't seem to work under domotiga however, it does work with the RFXCom RF transmitter program.

The transmitter is connected, I see this message when it's configured:

Code: Select all

2009/07/10 14:50:17  RFXCom transmitter interface enabled.
2009/07/10 14:50:17  RFXCom transmitter TCP interface connecting to 192.168.1.11:10002
2009/07/10 14:50:17  RFXCom transmitter Relay listening for client on port 10002
2009/07/10 14:50:17  RFXCom transmitter TCP socket connected.
However when I try to switch on device A5 via the transmitter it doesn't send an X10-coded RF to the X10-receiver(the LED doesn't blink either).
The log shows this:

Code: Select all

2009/07/10 14:50:35  [Devices] Interface for device with name 'Lamp_WK' is '12'
2009/07/10 14:50:35  [Devices] Address for device with name 'Lamp_WK' is 'A05'
2009/07/10 14:50:35  [Devices] RFXCom
Am I just expecting too much, or am I doing something wrong?
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by RDNZL »

You are expecting too much [:D], I'm building transmitter support as we speak.
I have some code written already, but I need a few days to make it work/and test it.
I will concentrate on KAKU and X10 support first, then other protocols.

Keep an eye out on the svn repository. [8D]

Regards,
Ron.
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by j.hoekstra »

Wow, great, will check it even more than now ;)
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by RDNZL »

I have promised Bert I get it to work before Elektor's Domotica Forum in September, so I have to hurry ;-)

I hope you have found the RSS feed already, it saves you a lot of time checking the domotiga website/svn.

(Check the timeline page bottom)

I'm curious; Which other domotica hardware do you want to use with DomotiGa?

I'm also planning on creating a demo DomotiGa/Ubuntu live cd soon.
Found a great tool for it called remastersys.

Regards,
Ron.
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by j.hoekstra »

RFXCom Receiver: X10(works) KAKU(EU, works), RFXSensor3(works) later on Visonics and Oregon Weather sensors.
RFXCom Transmitter: X10 and later KAKU, AB600(cheap).
I'm contemplating to get plugwise, but recent News about Z-wave looks good as well. The plugs to monitor powerusage look very interesting to me.
Does that feature work as well in domotiga?
Z-wave has the advantage for me that they implement radiator-devices which I could use very well because of city-heating and forgetfull roommates ;)
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by RDNZL »

Do you have more than one RFXSensor?
I only tested the code with some string injects (don't know if I handled the supply voltage devices correctly)

Oregon Sensors is no problem, all the ones your receiver supports are supported by DomotiGa, Visonic Motion too, but hey you can see that in the source yourself too ;-)

Which plugs do you mean, the plugwise ones? You can switch them, get the status and you can monitor there measured power usages yes.
Z-Wave is not supported yet, but I know other people are thinking about building it.
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by j.hoekstra »

One rfxsensor-3 + external DS2438 external temp/humid sensor.
Does that count as 1 or 2? ;)
I'm fiddling as bit with the sensors, need to read the manual to see how to recognize them.
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by j.hoekstra »

Is there a specific RFXSenor3 devicetype? Or is only the first entry of the sensor-output used, which happens to be the temperature in this case?
I got a sensor that displays temperature as well as humidity with 2 addresses, the temp shows fine on the first address, the second adres is supposed to show the RH, but only show either 7 or 8 instead of the (negative?) percentage I see in the log. I tried using all the types of oregon withe either just temp or combined with humidity.
Is there something I'm missing?
User avatar
b_weijenberg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1744
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by b_weijenberg »

There are different types of RFXSensor:
The 40066 with temperature only (without humidity sensor and floating A/D)
The 60066 with temperature and humidity.
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by j.hoekstra »

The external sensor I got is the 60012 with the 40066 as RFXSensor, the data of the former doesn't get completely transferred to domotiga. In the debug log I see the values pass, but I don't see them passed to value 2 or 3 of the device.
User avatar
b_weijenberg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1744
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by b_weijenberg »

You can check the RFXSensor data using RFreceiver. This makes it clear what you will receive and how to interpret.
Both sensors have a free A/D input that can be used for a humidity sensor or any other purpose with 0 to 10 Volts DC.
See another thread on this forum.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by RDNZL »

J. If you sent me the string the devices sent, or part of log I will fix it, email is on domotiga.nl if you can't pm yet. Thanks, regards, ron
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by j.hoekstra »

Will try to do when I get back home, away for work now. Can not test it with and without the addittional sensor to make the data more clear.

And sent, hopefully it makes sense ;)
coulomb
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:44 pm
Location: Italy

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by coulomb »

Does Domotiga support USB transmitters like 80005?
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Domotiga RFXCOM transmitter support

Post by RDNZL »

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by coulomb</i>
<br />Does Domotiga support USB transmitters like 80005?
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

I'm coding it as we speak ;-)

I just got support for ARCTech devices working in my development version.
So KAKU, NEXA, DomiaLite with codewheels are working.

Next up is X10 and AC/HE support (KAKU with auto code, HomeEasy UK, and Chacon)

Watch the svn repository the next few days. [:o)]

Regards,
Ron.
Post Reply

Return to “DomotiGa Forum”