Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
Moderator: RDNZL
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
Does anyone knows if Gambas (nessecary for DomotiGa) runs on an headless system without X installed?? If so, it could run on a NAS like Qnap. Got one and would like to run DomotiGa on it.
- RDNZL
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1008
- Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
- Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
That's what we are trying to find out soon.
Only since a few hours we have a version of DomotiGa (called DomotiGaServer) which doesn't need any graphical components of Gambas to run.
So it could be possible to run it on a headless server.
But I wonder who/how we are going to create qpkg's of Gambas, since no c++ compiler is on board of a qnap I guess, and since most of them have ARM architecture, meaning you have to cross compile them on another box, and since you don't have Gambas IDE on the qnap (since that needs X) you have to compile DomotiGa on another system too, no idea how to do that if the resulting code turns out to be different when compiled on x86 and ARM architecture.
Anybody knows how many room a qnap has for qpkg's?
Regards,
Ron.
Only since a few hours we have a version of DomotiGa (called DomotiGaServer) which doesn't need any graphical components of Gambas to run.
So it could be possible to run it on a headless server.
But I wonder who/how we are going to create qpkg's of Gambas, since no c++ compiler is on board of a qnap I guess, and since most of them have ARM architecture, meaning you have to cross compile them on another box, and since you don't have Gambas IDE on the qnap (since that needs X) you have to compile DomotiGa on another system too, no idea how to do that if the resulting code turns out to be different when compiled on x86 and ARM architecture.
Anybody knows how many room a qnap has for qpkg's?
Regards,
Ron.
- RDNZL
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1008
- Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
- Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
I have put my first attempt at the server part code on the svn.
Just checkout or update your repository like you normally do after this you will find it in the DomotiGaServer subdirectory.
The few lines of basic information about this project can be found here:
http://www.domotiga.nl/projects/domotig ... iga/Server
It has to be tested, bugfixed, and unused code has to be removed.
Regards,
Ron.
Just checkout or update your repository like you normally do after this you will find it in the DomotiGaServer subdirectory.
The few lines of basic information about this project can be found here:
http://www.domotiga.nl/projects/domotig ... iga/Server
It has to be tested, bugfixed, and unused code has to be removed.
Regards,
Ron.
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
I have no idea how to make a qpkg, think this is a Qnap-specific pkg format. On a Qnap (ARM and x86) you can have a ipkg installer. This will make things easier I guess altough there is (yet) no gambas package for a x86 Qnap.
About the room on a Qnap for a additional pkg, as much as you have free disk space left, so in most cases many gigabytes.
About the room on a Qnap for a additional pkg, as much as you have free disk space left, so in most cases many gigabytes.
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
Ron,
There's an error in the class CEIB.
Line 166 through 168 read:
EIB group addresses are of the form 0/0/0 so the indexing array is from 0-2 and not from 6-8.
The same is the problem for lines 173 through 175
Apart from this error the dimming function doesnt seem to work but i have to figure out why, its an eib addressing syntax thing i guess...
There's an error in the class CEIB.
Line 166 through 168 read:
Code: Select all
sAddressSplit = Split(sAddress, "|" "/")
sA1 = Val(sAddressSplit[6]) & Val(sAddressSplit[7])
sA2 = Val(sAddressSplit[8])
But should be:
sAddressSplit = Split(sAddress, "|" "/")
sA1 = Val(sAddressSplit[0]) & Val(sAddressSplit[1])
sA2 = Val(sAddressSplit[2])
The same is the problem for lines 173 through 175
Apart from this error the dimming function doesnt seem to work but i have to figure out why, its an eib addressing syntax thing i guess...
- RDNZL
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1008
- Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
- Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
I think it's not that easy! [:D]
Notice the | as extra separator in the split function call.
I think you can have this as result string as well:
0/1/2|0/2/1|1/2/3
The third 1/2/3 are in this case sAddressSplit[6] - sAddressSplit[8]
I guess Timo (Merdeka on this forum) who wrote DomotiGa's EIB support got 3 address groups there.
So both solutions are not 100% correct in all configurations.
Maybe you should do something like this:
But I haven't looked at the exact situation though.
I know Timo is rewriting the module, but don't know the current status.
Ron.
Notice the | as extra separator in the split function call.
I think you can have this as result string as well:
0/1/2|0/2/1|1/2/3
The third 1/2/3 are in this case sAddressSplit[6] - sAddressSplit[8]
I guess Timo (Merdeka on this forum) who wrote DomotiGa's EIB support got 3 address groups there.
So both solutions are not 100% correct in all configurations.
Maybe you should do something like this:
Code: Select all
DIM sAddresses AS String[]
DIM sGroup AS String
sAddresses = Split(sAddress, "|")
FOR EACH sGroup IN sAddresses
sAddressSplit = Split(sGroup, "/")
sA1 = Val(sAddressSplit[0]) & Val(sAddressSplit[1])
sA2 = Val(sAddressSplit[2])
' do your thing with it and go to the next
NEXT
I know Timo is rewriting the module, but don't know the current status.
Ron.
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
That's right. In my case an EIB dimmer uses 3 addresses.
1. position: on, off. EIB1
2. control: brighten, dim, stop.
3. value: numerical value: class EIB6
This is the same setup Misterhouse uses.
I wrote a new version of the EIB.class but it's on my old laptop which died on me. Tonight i'll take the drive out and see if i can access the data.
Timo.
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by RDNZL</i>
<br />I think it's not that easy! [:D]
Notice the | as extra separator in the split function call.
I think you can have this as result string as well:
0/1/2|0/2/1|1/2/3
The third 1/2/3 are in this case sAddressSplit[6] - sAddressSplit[8]
I guess Timo (Merdeka on this forum) who wrote DomotiGa's EIB support got 3 address groups there.
So both solutions are not 100% correct in all configurations.
Ron.
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
1. position: on, off. EIB1
2. control: brighten, dim, stop.
3. value: numerical value: class EIB6
This is the same setup Misterhouse uses.
I wrote a new version of the EIB.class but it's on my old laptop which died on me. Tonight i'll take the drive out and see if i can access the data.
Timo.
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by RDNZL</i>
<br />I think it's not that easy! [:D]
Notice the | as extra separator in the split function call.
I think you can have this as result string as well:
0/1/2|0/2/1|1/2/3
The third 1/2/3 are in this case sAddressSplit[6] - sAddressSplit[8]
I guess Timo (Merdeka on this forum) who wrote DomotiGa's EIB support got 3 address groups there.
So both solutions are not 100% correct in all configurations.
Ron.
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Alexander</i>
<br />If i may suggest: The communication between backend en frontend with XML (webservices). Everybody can than create their own frontend (windows/linux/webgui).
Alexander
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
I do like the GUI. So if we can preserve it this way that would be nice.
But then we should probably extend the XML-RPC API.
Timo
<br />If i may suggest: The communication between backend en frontend with XML (webservices). Everybody can than create their own frontend (windows/linux/webgui).
Alexander
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
I do like the GUI. So if we can preserve it this way that would be nice.
But then we should probably extend the XML-RPC API.
Timo
- RDNZL
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1008
- Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
- Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
In version 0.1.173 the DomotiGa GUI can be run in client/server mode.
You can have more than one client running at the same time.
They connect via mysql to to database to get/set devices and to get/set server settings, you can change server settings without restarting the server.
XmlRpc is use to tell the server it needs to reload config and restart module if needed.
In the development version I have build a UDP broadcaster for the Server and UDP listener in the clients, so they will be immediately notified if certain events occur, log changes, device value changes, on list are incomming calls etc...
You can have more than one client running at the same time.
They connect via mysql to to database to get/set devices and to get/set server settings, you can change server settings without restarting the server.
XmlRpc is use to tell the server it needs to reload config and restart module if needed.
In the development version I have build a UDP broadcaster for the Server and UDP listener in the clients, so they will be immediately notified if certain events occur, log changes, device value changes, on list are incomming calls etc...
Re: Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
As my intended to use hardware is a very limited laptop (PII with 128MB ram, 4GB disk and CD station) I am very interested in the h/w requirements of the DomotiGaServer. Is it possible to create a live CD with just the server version (should fit on a CD, NOT DVD) allowing me/others to test that?
I tested the current LiveDVD on more modern hardware and have looked for, but did not find, the webclient as that will be my primary interface to DomotiGa. Oh and I also did not get the network connectivity running with the LiveDVD config.
I do have some Unix knowledge, but as that very outdated (and from before X-Term configs and Linux distributables) I feel my knowledge runs short on this now.
Any help appreciated.
I tested the current LiveDVD on more modern hardware and have looked for, but did not find, the webclient as that will be my primary interface to DomotiGa. Oh and I also did not get the network connectivity running with the LiveDVD config.
I do have some Unix knowledge, but as that very outdated (and from before X-Term configs and Linux distributables) I feel my knowledge runs short on this now.
Any help appreciated.
- RDNZL
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1008
- Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
- Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
DomotiGaServer is not CPU/memory hungry, It runs on a Linksys NSLUG.
But I don't know about a PII though, and I think Ubuntu for example has a minimal memory footprint of 256-512Mb.
You can start a debian installer in low memory mode, and try to compile Gambas, you can simply leave out all X related libraries, and it should build just the cli parts.
The webclient is nothing fancy, it just needs apache or lighttpd with php/xmlrpc support, you can read the wiki on how to install those.
I will include it in a newer version of the livedvd.
But I don't know about a PII though, and I think Ubuntu for example has a minimal memory footprint of 256-512Mb.
You can start a debian installer in low memory mode, and try to compile Gambas, you can simply leave out all X related libraries, and it should build just the cli parts.
The webclient is nothing fancy, it just needs apache or lighttpd with php/xmlrpc support, you can read the wiki on how to install those.
I will include it in a newer version of the livedvd.
Regards, Ron.
Re: Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
Ron,
Did you find answers for QNAP environment? I've a qnap since a few weeks and am hoping you have more info since the start of this topic.
Did you find answers for QNAP environment? I've a qnap since a few weeks and am hoping you have more info since the start of this topic.
Alexander
- RDNZL
- Forum Moderator
- Posts: 1008
- Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
- Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Domotiga in a backend/frontend setup ??
To be honest, no.
I have a Synology DS410 (I know no QNAP, but ARM architecture too) on which I have tried to install it, but it was kinda big all the needed requirements.
I will try to look at it with new Gambas version, just notice on the mailinglist that Gambas2 will be deprecated before end of this year.
So now I really have to start getting ready for Gambas3.
It's 10-20% faster, so that's always nice.
I have a Synology DS410 (I know no QNAP, but ARM architecture too) on which I have tried to install it, but it was kinda big all the needed requirements.
I will try to look at it with new Gambas version, just notice on the mailinglist that Gambas2 will be deprecated before end of this year.
So now I really have to start getting ready for Gambas3.
It's 10-20% faster, so that's always nice.

Regards, Ron.