Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

If your (rooted) Toon doesn't do what it's supposed to, post here. Dutch allowed / Posten in 't Nederlands toegestaan.

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, TerrorSource, Toonz

Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

Postby VonFlaffenhausen » Tue Oct 08, 2019 2:38 pm

Hi,

I have a rooted toon that has worked for about 2 years.
Lately I noticed that the touchscreen would only work if the unit was not in sleep mode. If I would "wake" the unit with VNC, then touchscreen would work. I was just unable to wake it with touchscreen.
I did not really care to much since I never really use the screen during the summer. It is getting colder though :)

The last couple of weeks touchscreen seems to have stopped working completely.
I have installed the latest firmware, rebooted the device, opened it up and reconnect the flat-cables.
Sadly the above did not work.

Could this be a driver issue or is it more likely to be a hardware issue?
Can anyone point out what I could check to tackle this issue?

Kind Regards,
VonFlaffenhausen
VonFlaffenhausen
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 2017

Re: Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

Postby TheHogNL » Tue Oct 08, 2019 2:43 pm

Haven't seen it before but I would suggest hardware.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1293
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

Postby VonFlaffenhausen » Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:01 pm

That's a shame.
Gonna have to find a new Toon then I am afraid.
VonFlaffenhausen
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 2017

Re: Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:07 am

First try if you cables in the toon are still correctly seated
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1293
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

Postby VonFlaffenhausen » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:14 am

Hey @TheHogNL
Thanks for your reply.
I have openend up the Toon and there are 2 cables connected from the screen to the mainboard. I assume touchscreen goes through one of those?
Those 2 I have checked. Is there an other cable I should check?


Thanks!
VonFlaffenhausen
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 2017

Re: Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Oct 18, 2019 6:34 pm

No those two should be it.
To bad, you are probably having a bad touchscreen now indeed. Luckally those toon1's are not that expensive on marktplaats. If your want to replace it with a toon2 I'm selling one of my spares for about 175. Contact me if you are interested.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1293
Joined: August 2017

Re: Rooted Toon (1) Touchscreen no longer working

Postby Ron_nl » Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:05 am

What I would do is take both of the flatcables out by lifting the locking mechanism and then reinsert them and locking the mechanism,
just to make sure the flatcables are deep enough into its socket.

Ron.
Ron_nl
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 2019


Return to Toon issues and support (Nederlands toegestaan)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests