The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Forum about Questions, discussions and announcements regarding the Bwired website owned by Pieter Knuvers

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby Bwired » Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:13 pm

Today I replaced my 20 year old ITHO Home ventilator with the new and GREEN ITHO CVE ECO-FAN 2P. This should reduce the power usage with More then 25 watt an hour, if the vent is running in the Low position (default).
low position (1) 3,2 Watt
Middle position (2) 7,5 Watt
High position (3) 22-28 Watt

This makes a big difference with my existing old home ventilator which is consuming 30W in low position and 84W in high position.

On thing I had to adjust, The new Ecofan was running by default lower (less M3) in high position then my old ITHO. However the Ecofan can be adjusted (inside) to run harder in position 3 and lower in position 1.

The wireless controller (I think 868MHZ [:D]) can be combined easily with existing (perilax) wired control. So if you switch the wired control on High you can switch it low again with wireless control, very handy. There is also a timer in the wireless control, 10 minutes running high on every push.

The ITHO ECO-FAN2
Image

Wireless remote for the ITHO EcoFan
Image

Old ITHO Ventilator consuming 30 watt low and 84 watt in high position.
Image

Link to the ITHO Eco-FAN2:
http://www.itho.nl/Assortiment/ITHO/Ven ... -3056.aspx

Check also this topic: topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=804

http://www.bwired.nl/weblog.asp?id=268
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby TANE » Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:23 pm

Interesting..
My ventilation system is on the roof..I have to check if something like this will fit.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby Bwired » Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:30 am

After measuring the power usage I can say that the specifications of the ITHO ECO-FAN 2 are right.
On position 1 (default) this new ventilator is saving me about 30 Watt per hour.
Again another 260KW down on my yearly Essent energy bill.
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby Lennart » Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:42 am

Hi Pieter,

Great! One for my list as well (our fan is "only" 10 years old but I don't think it is very power efficient).

Just a few questions:

- Did you already connect it to Xanura modules to control it?

- If so, did you need to use relays to make it work with Xanura modules, as seems to be necessary for some fan units (See http://www.domoticaforum.eu/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=804)

- How did you measure power consumption? Isn't it connected with a perilex plug? Not something to force into a Plugwise module ;-)...

- Where did you buy it and at what price?

Thanks!

Lennart
Lennart
Member
Member
 
Posts: 493
Joined: July 2006
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby Bwired » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:01 pm

The Itho Ecofan is a DC ventilator Unit so it requires multiple extra relays.
I did not have those so I removed the Xanura modules temporary. I'm more thinking now controlling the unit with the Rf remote control. In the remote there are 4 switches, Position 1 to 3 and a timer button. Everytime you push the timer button the Vent will run for 10 minutes (3 pushes = 30 minutes). So now I have to figure out how to switch these buttons, it can be done with Xanura (PIOX15 http://www.bwired.nl/images/how/PIOX15.pdf or something).

I have have the Perilex connector and that makes measuring not easy, so what i did is compare the specs with the difference in overall usage. At night I normally have a default usage of 400 to 410 watt an hour, with the new ITHO it was 350 to 360 watt. And I had exactly running the same devices at night. Almost all my default devices are behind a plugwise module, so I can see my night usage very precise (except for the ITHO vent :-) )

Nice thing is also that you can control the Itho with the remote and the existing wired switch. You can even combine them, so if you switch the wired switch to position 3 you can switch it to position 1 with the remote and vica versa.
An extra remote is costing 32 euros, i bought the complete set for 247 euros including shipping. Get back on the seller.

Btw: the remote is I probably 868Mhz, so later on I might bother Bert with it :-)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby Rene » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:46 pm

When the wired switch is at position 3 and you use the remote to set it to 1, the wired switch is still in position 3, right? How do you set it to position 3 again using the wired switch?

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby RDNZL » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:47 pm

I have this ECO ITHO for half a year or so...
The big gain for me was the fact that it's not so noisy as the old 220V fan.
It's mounted in a cupboard in my bedroom.. so you can imagine..

I couldn't determine what protocol the RF remote control uses.

So I have bought 2 of them, one is connected to a Weeder SSR module, so I can control the fan from my domotics software (have to write the code to control it still)

Regards,
Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 967
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby RDNZL » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:49 pm

When the wired switch is at position 3 and you use the remote to set it to 1, the wired switch is still in position 3, right? How do you set it to position 3 again using the wired switch?
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 967
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby Bwired » Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:18 pm

Right!
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby RDNZL » Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:01 pm

This is my RF remote interface [;)]

Connected it to my Weeder SSR module.

I just have to sent ASCII "ACA250" for speed 1, "ACB250" for speed 2, "ACC250" for speed 3, and "ACD250" for timer trigger to the serial port.

Doesn't look nice, but it works!
Just tested it...

Image

Regards,
Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 967
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby TANE » Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:29 pm

It works..:)
what model is the RS232 that you use?
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby RDNZL » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:11 pm

You mean the USB to serial interface?

It's a no-name no-brand generic one with the Prolific PL-2303 chip.
(I have 6 of them connected to my linux eee-box)

Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 967
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby Bwired » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:58 pm

Something like that I'm planning to make as well
Thanks for the picture.
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby TANE » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:59 pm

nope the RS232 interface where the SSR is connected.

I think it must be easy to send the ASCI code just from a script for Homeseer users or not?
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

The ITHO ECO-FAN 2P

Postby TANE » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:08 pm

This is my current ventilation system
I have nu pictures of the system inside.

will ITHO fit?

Image
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Bwired Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests