plugwise stick

Plugwise Forum about Plugwise devices and the Source software.

plugwise stick

Postby Ruud » Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:26 pm

Is the stick working on a Belkin hub?
Ruud
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 844
Joined: January 2008
Location: Rijswijk (Z.H)

plugwise stick

Postby TANE » Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:01 pm

works fine with belkin lan USB hub
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Dickr43 » Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Yes, I second that. Works flawlesly.
User avatar
Dickr43
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Digit » Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:04 pm

Not in combination with MS Hyper-V.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Bwired » Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:40 pm

Yeb I have my icybox usb to lan for sale as well, only for XP and freezsta.
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Digit » Sun Dec 14, 2008 11:55 pm

I have to recall my former reply for now. More info on this later on this week, after more test with the Belkin.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby TANE » Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:05 am

Robert is it working with MS Hyper-V or Windows 2003?
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Digit » Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:12 am

Actually i can't answer your questions:
- MS Hyper-V: i thought it didn't work, not so sure anymore.
- Windows 2003: never tested that non-virtual.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Ruud » Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:18 am

I discovered that the belkin some times , generated so much network traffic that there is no traffic from other computers possible.
A reboot is te only solution.

Gr Ruud
Ruud
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 844
Joined: January 2008
Location: Rijswijk (Z.H)

plugwise stick

Postby Digit » Sat Dec 20, 2008 1:08 am

After running the Plugwise Source on a physical XP machine for some time, i have finally got it working on a (Hyper-V) VM. Problem was getting the Plug accessible inside a VM.

First exercise with the Hyper-V VM and Belkin were not very promising; i didn't even get a simple USB stick working.

Second exercise, Belkin with Plugwise Plug on a VM wasn't successful either; so i installed the Source on a physical XP machine and sold the Belkin.

This week i got some new information that made me confident i would get the Belkin working inside a VM, so i bought a 2nd one.

And yes, it's working now :-)

Image

The problem was that when a new VM is created, the setup process will not see any USB hardware, resulting in a incomplete USB driver installation on the VM.
This is very easy to solve: http://www.digi.com/support/kbase/kbase ... sp?id=1051

After copying the usbd.sys to my XP VM, all worked fine.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby TANE » Sat Dec 20, 2008 1:19 am

Nice work Robert..:)
This is the result of "Het nieuwe testen"

Hope there will be support for W2003 in the next version..including startup as services.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Bwired » Sat Dec 20, 2008 2:53 am

thats my wish to W2k3 support
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Alexander » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:10 pm

Does your USB stick be recognized as a USB serial port from FTDI? This is telling my device manager, but the config wizard still doesn't see the stick (blue question mark)
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Alexander » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:35 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Chak</i>
<br />USB dongle is just a converter to RS232 using FTDI chip.
Biggest challenge is understanding the network concept en encryption.
This is not a easy job..
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

plugwise stick

Postby Alexander » Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:03 am

Yes! Used process monitor to see if it accesses any reg keys or files. Saw it used a MD database and filled in the com port attribute in the database. Now it will find the plug during the wizard.
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Plugwise Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests